Sustainability vs Eco-friendly

I am unsure of what the difference between Eco friendly and Sustainability is. I have researched what I believe is Sustainable design and companies acting on it, but I also think that some of my research is in Eco friendly. I researched the meaning of both words and then what people of the internet thought of the differences.

my finding’s using the Cambridge dictionary online – http://dictionary.cambridge.org/

Screen Shot 2015-04-06 at 11.13.16

Screen Shot 2015-04-06 at 11.13.46

Then I research the opinion of people online on the difference of the two words

starting with someone questioning it online found at – http://archnet.org/

Screen Shot 2015-04-06 at 11.28.22

Eco Design and Sustainable Design
Good day! I am a senior student from the Philippines, taking up BS Interior Design. I am currently working on a thesis about Eco Design application on a Resort Hotel Interior. I would like to ask about the differences between eco design and sustainable design. Your response would be very much appreciated, Thank you.

The response’s he got(one that I thought had the highest value)

Eco Design and Sustainable Design
Allan, There is not much difference between “ecological” and “sustainable” because both words imply they work in harmony with the environment and therefore both can be classed as forms of neo-vernacular design.

The only difference I can see is that (a) When the building design works in harmony with the environment and in particular the building design works with the climate and not against the climate. (ie low tech passive heating and cooling as against expensive, Hi-Tech, high energy, heating and cooling systems). and (b) when the materials used for the building either come from reusuable / recyclable sources, or when the materials are sourced locally.

Frank John Snelling

My Conclusion

from what I gained from both the definition’s of both words from the Cambridge dictionary online and through Frank’s reply on Archnet.org/, was that there is not a lot of difference between the two. Frank’s reply to the question summed it up pretty well with this sentence

“when the materials used for the building either come from reusuable / recyclable sources, or when the materials are sourced locally”

This was something that I had discovered while doing the Agents for Change module. While Eco-friendly concerns the impact on the environment, sustainability is about creating/designing with materials that all ready exist or creating something that serves as a purpose greater than original use e.g. The merry go round I discovered when watching the ted talk by Alex Steffen called ‘The route to a sustainable future’, which is purpose wasn’t just for children to play on but to pump water.

Designing with the effect of the planet in mind.

Think I can look at both Sustainability and Eco-friendly.

Leave a Reply

