Generating ideas

Being extremely interested in the way Burgess has composed A Clockwork Orange in a musical way, I’ve started creating design solutions and generating a variety of ideas.

One of the things that came to mind when learning of Alex’s de-humanising was him losing his life, that made me think of the graphics on a heartbeat monitor.

Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 11.29.23

I thought of comparing the rhyme of a heartbeat to that of music. found these visuals –

Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 11.36.30 Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 11.36.46 Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 11.37.08  Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 11.37.27   Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 11.37.40Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 11.37.14

Then I looked at quotes that did the same –

The most beautiful music in the world is your own heartbeat, it assures you that you will survive even when the whole world leaves you alone.” Unknown

“To stop the flow of music would be like the stopping of time itself, incredible and inconceivable.” Aaron Copland

“Music speaks what cannot be expressed, soothes the mind and gives it rest, heals the heart and makes it whole, flows from heaven to the soul.” Angela Monet

“When I hear music, I fear no danger. I am invulnerable. I see no foe. I am related to the earliest times, and to the latest.” Henry David Thoreau

I especially like this “Music is the vernacular of the human soul.” Geoffrey Latham

As the book is written in the first person, which we feel part of, it’s like the main character Alex is playing what Burgess is conducting. But I also feel like when Alex is the victimizer he is conducting the music, when that changes in the second and third part, as he becomes the victim, it’s as if he becomes deaf and blind, and unable to conduct his own life.

I like the idea of Alex conducting with his razor (weapon of choice) on the front cover, while on the back cover he sits in sorrow wearing his shirt and tie after being reformed.

I also liked the idea of the music becoming his journey/path, which is really what Burgess has done in a form of a book.

Maybe using digital equalisers as they’re a form of contemporary music culture.

Next step is creating some visuals to back up my ideas

Leave a Reply

