YCN brief

So I contacted YCN, via twitter, because I wasn’t 100% sure of the brief.

Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 16.13.28

Hello Helen 

I’m doing the Fever-Tree brief for a third year project in CSAD (Cardiff School of Art and Design), and I am little confused by the brief. I was wondering if you could clarify some thing? 
What exactly is mean’t by a wrap design? is it separate from the bottle? or does it mean the graphics can wrap around the whole bottle? is there a template for this?
also what are the submission requirements/options?
Her response – 
Hi Andrew, 

Thanks for getting in touch. Great to hear you’re getting stuck into one of the Briefs! 
The limited edition design is to wrap around the body of the bottle. I’m afraid there isn’t a template but they have included an image of the 500ml Tonic bottle, for which the design is to set up on, within the Project Pack. 
You need to select one of the 5 regions find in the Project Pack and create a set of 4 designs inspired by four different countries within this region. It’s up to you how you wish to submit your designs, you could mock them up onto the bottle, send them as flat designs, or any other way you see fit! 
You are also welcome to send any physical items to support your digital entries, so if you wished to send physical bottle mock ups too then please do! You can find more information on how to submit your work here – http://www.ycn.org/awards/ycn-student-awards/2015-16-ycn-student-awards/deliverables-guidelines 
I hope I have cleared things up for you! Do let me know if you have any other questions at all. It’s great to have feedback so we can look over the briefs and make sure this doesn’t cause any further confusion! 
Many thanks, 
Helen
Conclusion
I still don’t understand what is mean’t by “wrap design”, well I know what it means but I don’t know whether it goes around the entire bottle, or if its separate and can be wrapped over the bottle, or if it just means I have to work on their current label template? which I doubt because it’s very small. Guess I’ll have to use my initiative with this, I can always alter my design for each possible scenario.
I’m not sure if I like the amount of freedom we have with what we can submit. Being able to send them physical stuff is interesting tho, and I could create a mock-up of one of the designs on a 500ml Fever-tree bottle, might be a little ambitious tho.
Leave a Reply

