The Big Idea

Cruelly, before we broke up for christmas we were handed a new brief. I say it was cruel, only due to the fact that our dissertation hand-in is the first week of February, and the festive period is the best chances we have of completing it. I guess their not trying to make graduating easy for us, which is fair, so, lets get to the brief.

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 00.05.26

The Big Idea

We are asked to research a word, which we have to select from a choice of 23, and then produce a piece of work which communicates aspects of the concept to an audience of our choice.

Words/Phrase

  • Migration
  • Addiction
  • Morality
  • Netiquette
  • Viral (Marketing)
  • Strategy
  • Holistic
  • Prejudice
  • Outside the box
  • Sustainability
  • Asylum
  • Curiosity
  • Perception
  • Devient
  • Obedience
  • Serendipity
  • Schadenfreude
  • Efficiency
  • Analysis
  • Innovation
  • 4G
  • Eroticism
  • Ergonomic

Yay, choice! I looked up all of the words, well ones I was unsure of, and narrowed it down to four I thought might have potential.

  • Migration
  • Curiosity
  • Serendipity
  • Schadenfreude

I’m not going to overthink this. I know that whatever word I go with, I’m going to produce an outcome based on researching it. The last project I spent the first week research ever brief to see which would benefit me the most, needless to say I wasted a week and it did effect the progress of my outcome.

On Friday the 15th Jan we’re expected to give a 6 minute Research Presentation of our chosen word, an outline of it’s meaning and the context in which it sits following our research.

Having to give most of my time to completing my dissertation, I can’t afford to waste time being indecisive and I need to act on this.

The word I’m going with……Serendipity!

 

 

Leave a Reply

