Trip to Zenith Media

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 20.24.33

Where to start…well Firstly, wow! I really didn’t expect anything like that, when I heard it was a print studio I assumed it would be a small operation, how wrong I was. In fact it was to such a large scale that half the pictures I took throughout the tour, I can’t even remember what they where, but I’ll try and explain.

We where given a guided tour around the factory by Alun Phillips, Business Development Manager, where he talked us through the process from start, receiving the digital file, to finish, the finished publication or print. I’m going to talk through the pictures I took

IMG_0241

Above: Alun showing us one of the printer plates, which would be a single colour.

Below: Are the result, well for a different page, but the same work for Cardiff Met.

IMG_0248.JPG

IMG_0242

Above: The quantity of paper was ridiculous. Mountains of different type, tones, weights and finishes. Was truly a sight.

Below: This picture puts into perspective how much business goes in and out of Zenith Media, and how quickly it happens.

IMG_0254

IMG_0262

Above: To be honest I can’t really tell you much about this image, all I can say is they are huge printers and each station here had a different ink.

Below: This massive computer worked out the CMYK ink levels needed for each document.

IMG_0264IMG_0266

Above: A close up for the CYMK measuring machine. Alun said that the Yellow was quite high on this document.

Below: Were before printing use to be a flat press process, it’s now done using rollers, which is quicker, Speedmaster XL…..Obviously.

IMG_0267IMG_0270

Above: This machine laminates the print.

Below: Was the machine that adds the foil finish.

IMG_0280

IMG_0278

Above: The results of foil finish

Below: Again the amount of work was immense.

IMG_0281IMG_0284

Above: Now we’re looking at digital printing side of the factory. The digital side doesn’t involve creating custom plates, the quality is not as good, and it’s usually for small jobs.

Below: This printer can produce 5 metre long prints, anything from banners, to a collection of prints that form to wrap around a building.

IMG_0285IMG_0287

Above: This is a production line were the machine glues the spin of the final publication and then presses it down so it can set.

I thought today was a great experience and I thoroughly enjoy it. It was really interesting learning about all the machinery and the processes, even if it was a lot to take in, but Alun seem to know exactly what he was talking about. I’d happy get some work experience there, because it was such an interest environment, so thats something I’m going to persuade before I graduate.

Also I might approach them about producing my publication or any work for my show.

 

Leave a Reply

