Hook

What is my angle? whats so different about this idea?

I’ve got a few ideas:

  1. The social effect of these idea’s not being heard?
  2. The individuals potentials and not feeling like they are capable of such work
  3. The creative industry as a whole?

Then I remember this:

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 12.24.05.png

Its the 2015 D&AD Awards Guide, and what caught my eye was the sentence ‘I wish I’d done that’, which runs through the publication.

I wish I’d know I can do that

I wish I’d could of done that

The premise of D&AD awards is that it celebrates the best work produced in the design industry, but how does that inspire those who just entered this industry and have only university project to show, when the amazing work out there is usually done by a team of designers? I believe it intimidates us, I’m in the same boat, and makes us think that we’re not good enough, so why bother, when realistically we are just a capable of producing just as amazing work once we leave university, but the first steps into this industry are scary.

Thousands of new graduates of out work, figures show by The Telegraph

This article written 25 June 2015 states “A third of working graduates took jobs as cleaners, office juniors and road sweepers six months after leaving university”. It is hard to get a job and a lack of faith in your ability isn’t going to help. It’s a dog eat dog world and if you want to get somewhere and make something of yourself then you have to be brave.

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 13.05.20.png

What they don’t do is egg you on and motivate you, some might disagree, but I like the concept of ‘I wish I’d could of done that’. When I stop to David yesterday we talked about it being an event that the university attended, but it could be an event that regional universities attended.

 

Leave a Reply

