SSP: YOU CAN DO IT submission

Screen Shot 2016-03-13 at 13.34.38

Today we had our Student Set Project final presentation, and in fact our final uni project!! The reason why I haven’t been blogging this week is because I’ve been putting all my energy into making a video to go with the event ‘YOU CAN DO IT’. Ideally I wanted to have the video ready for the D&AD deadline Wednesday, unfortunately, having struggled to come up with a good solution for the brief, that was until I thought up the event last weekend, I gave myself this week to do the filming. I used the weekend to plan the film through a detailed storyboard, that I ran past my family and good friend Jonathan year, so I could get on with filming it Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday. Again I hit some more bad luck, when the Universities GoPro action camera wasn’t available until Tuesday afternoon. I would of liked to to have spent Monday experimenting with the camera and set aside Tuesday and Wednesday to film, but instead I had to experiment Tuesday and film Wednesday.

The Video

Being the first time I’ve written a storyboard/filmed/edited I think it’s not too bad, and in two days work. I’t by far not finish, and thats something I will work on during easter, especially if I want to use it as a show piece, which I do, because it’s different.

I’d like to thank my mum and good friend Jonny, as I got them to listen while I explained this, mainly for myself, then there’s my housemate Ben Walton, and tutor Wendy for their roles in the video.

The Event

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 18.20.46.png

Conclusion

As for the outcome for the brief ‘Fortune Favours the Brave’, I think I’ve produced a sufficient(being modest) solution. I’m really happy with the direction this took, initially I was worried because it was a tricky brief, but I think my idea of an event works. YOU CAN DO IT happens regionally,so only needs to be put on in a few locations around the UK, where university students are taken by their uni, so they don’t have the choice, just before they graduate, and is full of inspiration, motivation and everything you need to get you in the right mindset, for when your no longer a student and are heading into a big and scary industry.

Yes it took me a while before I could honestly say I’ve got a solid solution for the brief, yes the video needs some work, and yes I think I need to do some branding and stationary for the event, but it’s definitely a piece I will consider for the final show, and probably one of the strongest projects I’ve produce, well….based on no feedback. I’ve learn’t a lot and again enjoyed working with different medias.

Leave a Reply

