Serendipity book

I spent today re-doing the pages I did for the publication I intend to produce for ‘The Big Idea’. I’ve also decided to change from working on a square format to a easier A5 one.

Inside front – page spread

I think this is pretty much done. I got the idea of displaying a collage on the inside front and back from learning about the connection between serendipity & juxtaposition. The first page I wanted to simply have to definition of the word Serendipity, but I then got the idea a design the page around the theme….so when I thought about it serendipity I thought about discovery, which gets me to the magnifying glass. Think it works pretty well.

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 21.36.28

How to embrace serendipity – page spread

sticking with the colours scheme and typefaces

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 22.15.25

I just decided to be experimental with this, and in fact it’s something I wanted to be with the whole publication, but to start with it was a little messy. I’ve still got the content to add, as I’ve used some of the google text, but that shouldn’t take long as the layout is pretty much done ready.

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 13.11.37

Google – page spread

I decided to abandon the colour scheme for this page, although, I might create an alternative version to see what it’s like with the colours I’m working with.

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 14.48.43

Inside back – page spread

This will be the collage that starts on the inside front cover. The opposite page with have a quote about Juxtaposition, in relation to serendipity that is. All the images I used where from  Pixabay, which is a royalty free website. Again, I’m happy with this.

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 12.27.55

Plan

I’ve got the following spreads to finish:

  • The Map(which is a big one)
  • The Creative challenges
  • Additional spread – explain the connection between serendipity and creativity
  • Front cover
  • I also want to add quote through the book
One Comment on “Serendipity book”


Leave a Reply

