SSP

8/9 days without blogging?!?! Did you miss me? Like a spot on the back of the neck, I assume, or a hole in those socks your gran got you for christmas, that you’re forced to wear every time you visit? I hope it’s more than that. Unfortunately, access to the internet in Les Carroz, France, wasn’t great, which mean’t I was left to work….internetless!!! Despite this I was able to plan a lot of work and work on both SSP and The Big Idea, so not too bad.

SSP

This project has had good progress since we finished it before easter. I had the idea of the event ‘YOU CAN DO IT’ and the video I created, for the D&AD deadline, which after much frustration I submitted, I thought why not. I had been working on branding the event, and had started off my creating an event guide publication what would be handed out at the event. The event guide would have information about the event,useful resources e.g. creative jobsites, inspiration, D&AD membership, creative software..etc, inspiring quotes and I want it to be designed beautifuly, like the D&AD 2015 awards guide I hold, designed by Paula Pascua

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 12.24.05

The Event Guide

I started by establishing the brand identity, D&AD’s colour scheme: Black, White and Yellow and their typeface’s Pier Sans and the new New Blood’s Myriad Pro Italic.

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 13.34.48

I decided to use the D&AD octagon, and New Blood under-type highlighting, and I wanted to create a symbol for the event, so I made the Graduation hat illustration that I wanted to use throughout the publication.

I had decided I want the publication to have two additions, so I created two different covers and patterns that ran uniquely through each one.

The cover

I wanted to keep it simple, much like Paula Pascua’s design, but I’m interested in the finish of it. As for the size of the publication, I was thinking smaller than A5 maybe 178mm x 119mm, like ‘The Print Handbook’

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 14.23.12

Which I have been studying over Easter, great little publication.

Two covers

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 13.30.43Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 13.26.48

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 13.31.20

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 14.18.18.png

Event guide content

I’d got it down to 6 page spreads

  1. Quote page + introduction
  2. Events spread
  3. Quote page + job hunting
  4. D&AD Membership spread
  5. Adobe CC + Apple Affinity software
  6. Quote page + useful resources

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 13.16.22

YOU CAN DO IT event guide

Plan

I need to put this project behind me for now, well, at least until I get feedback and have a chat to my tutor to see where I can take it. I can see it being a show piece because it will cover branding, printing with the publication and a video, which needs work.

Leave a Reply

