TBI: Serendipity

I decided today that I’m going to put a few hour into my publication ‘Serendipity: A Designers Guide’.Reason being, I want to use it in my portfolio and for our final show, which are things we’re working on this FINAL semester. I’m actually enjoying this project a lot more than I expected, especially when I started because I thought I chose a dificult word. What I’ve enjoyed is creating this playful and creative publication, I’ve been able to be extremely experiment, and it’s been great.

Since we finished the project, my designs have developed a fair bit.

Original

I had kept it simple, maybe too much, and well, I thought it was messy and tasteless. The original set of spreads had no colour scheme and I had stuck with quite generic fonts.

Tip spread 2

Google spread

First Re-visit

When I decided to re-visit this just before we broke up for Easter, I had decided on continuing with the publication, but starting from scratch.I had done the neccessary research, but, due to our dissertation overlapped this project, The final design outcomes had been rushed. I had discussed bring different styles and design methods into this experimental publication, because that what Serendipity is all about, and if I wanted to teach people of it in my guide, then I wanted the book to have qualities of inspiration.

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 21.36.28

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 14.48.43

Developed

Today, when I went back to the collage spreads, I was inspired by bauhaus design and wanted to incorporate it into my publication. I also decided to mix up the colour scheme, retro colour combo. I’ve also reconsidered what fonts I’ve used, and have axed Pier San for the more versatile Avenir Next, using both the medium and heavy.

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 13.15.42.png

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 15.02.15.png

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 19.25.48.png

The plan

To be experimental with the pages I have, and those I’m yet to create, and to decide how I want the cover to look.

Leave a Reply

