Serendipity Cover

As important as the content of the book is, the cover comes first and is what people initially see. Like the Print Handbook I was given last year, which I was studying over Easter, I was interesting by the gatefold cover it had and would like to do it for this publication, partly due to the potential it has.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 12.23.55.png

An example of gatefold

I also want to experiment with hidden messages and the way the reader interacts with the book, serendipity is to do with discovery so an element of discover is maybe needed in the book.

obviously I’ve got to work on the content. I’m thinking of using quotes, inspiring sentences or even song lyrics. I also think it would be good to temporary seal the gatefold and see if people discover that it opens..? again just trying to make it interactive and a puzzle.

I think it would also be interesting if text on different pages lined up and contradicted itself, or went from being negative to being positive, but subtle.

IMG_1008.JPG

I think I want the cover to be on white, or a shade of it, in a colourful collage style, spelling out serendipity in newspaper cut out, like ransom notes:

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 13.09.11.png

With possible, unless it becomes too distracting or chaotic, random text and images.

Plenty to get on with, but I’m happy and enjoying the creative freedom and experimenting with mediums and in this case, a books potential.

Leave a Reply

