Degree Show

I’ve been thinking this week about the projects I want include in the degree show. I’ve decided I’m definitely going to include The Big Idea project, and this is what I’m going to do for it:

IMG_1010.JPG

I want to display the publication on a desk, not a table, because I want to create an environment around a work-space, as ‘chaos in a work-space’ was something I researched and is an amplitude for helping designers and arts being more serendipitous creatively and innovative.

Chaos in work-space

I would like to invite the show participants to sit in the desk and read the book, or maybe draw something, while being overwhelmed and inspired by random objects, colours, words and even sounds.

What was also quite nice about today, was I got to speak to our lecture Neil Angove, who has been absent from university for all of this year. We discussed the idea behind ‘Serendipity: A Designers Guide’, and how I want to create a workspace environment for the degree show inviting people to interact with the book and space.

The first picture above has a few ideas of the different elements I could bring into the show space:

  • random items: toys, stationary, cd’s, etc..
  • materials: tablecloth, carpet, samples, etc..
  • symbols: languages, words, signs, etc..
  • food & drink: bottles, food packaging, maybe actual food, etc..
  • lights: desk light, fairy lights, etc..
  • playful stuff: play-dough, colouring pencils, etc..
  • photos: art, building, pets, family holidays, etc..
  • music: whale noises(aha), talking, real life environment sounds, etc..
  • smell: candles(if we’re allowed), potpourri, a herb plant, etc..

I don’t want to go overboard with this, but it think it could be a stand thing in the show, providing it’s done well. I may even consider changing the space every day or two to see how it effects other. This is really turning into a experiment, almost a live piece of art…around the concept of the book.

Leave a Reply

