Tutorial with Ray

We talk mainly about The Big Idea, as it’s going to be the core show peice, but we also had a brief chat about my business card design.

Serendipity: A Designers Guide

I had printed out the publication spreads today so I could look at them as a physical object, rather than on-screen, because the printed version obviously will be slightly different. I’m pretty happy with how it’s sized, Text and images, but there is still loads to adjust as this is just a first draft. Ray wasn’t too displeased, and suggested I try to bring more elements of Serendipity, or happenstance as he tends to call it, into the publication, and ‘word association’ was repeated.

I told him about my idea of presenting the book for the show, and the workspace I wanted to create around ‘Design For Chaos’. He was unsure of this and told me I need to focus more on the book, for this reason I’m trying to get a second opinion on it, and will hopefully get a quick tutorial with David before this week ends.

An interesting thing came up when discussing the book with Ray, which was, how he was working on a publication and the pages had no order, as of yet. Thinking about this, what if my publication had no order and it was down to the user. So I was thinking about the book being done in ring binders, so you can take out and move pages, while being a pack that comes in a box that you have to put together yourself. Of course you’d receive some kind of instructions and the box will be suited to the book, plus a nice way to present the project.

Action

  • I’m going to highlight any mistakes I made on the first print, and any alterations I need to make.
  • Research word association and word perception
  • Design the cover and box design
  • Update and develop collage pages
  • Explore ring bindings and boxes, price

I apologies for the lack of pictures, I lost my phone on the weekend….it’s been a hard few days, but I’ll be okay.

Leave a Reply

